The Spanish Alphabet is very similar to the English alphabet (in terms of letters, not sounds) however is much more unclear. Some people believe that there are 30 letters in the Spanish alphabet, some believe 29, however, I am going to stick with the most common and official alphabet which I have learnt and use.

The below alphabet has 27 letters:

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, Ñ, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

The new letter here is Ññ. This letter is very similar to Nn, however, it is pronounced ‘en-nyay’.

Now, it’s time to get a little bit more confused. You English speakers recognise the above letters, right? Sure, it’s just the English alphabet with an added letter. In Spanish, some letters of the alphabet are not pronounced as they are in English.

I highly recommend checking out this page on SpanishDict, it contains the Spanish alphabet and its pronunciations, don’t be put off if you see CH, LL and RR. They are letters that used to be part of the Spanish alphabet. Nowadays, they are mainly referred to as sounds and they are honestly not as difficult as they may look or seem to begin with. Make sure you get used to these sounds and don’t be a silent student, it is very important to keep your reading, listening, writing and speaking skills at the same level to avoid confusion and unbalanced learning later on.

Ready to continue? Click here to go to the next course.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: